standard-title Arizona Medical Marijuana

Arizona Medical Marijuana

Arizona Medical Marijuana

On November 02, 2010, Ballot Proposition 203 “Arizona Medical Marijuana Act”, was approved by 50.13% of Arizona voters.

Prop 203 effectively removing all state-level penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana, by patients who have been issued with a “written or oral recommendation”, by their primary care physician, stating that he or she “would benefit from medical marijuana.”  

ARIZONA PROGRAM AND CONTACT DETAILS

Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS)

Medical Marijuana Program

150 North 18th Avenue

Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Phone: 602-542-1025

WebsiteArizona Medical Marijuana Program


 

Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana

“Qualifying patients can obtain medical marijuana from a dispensary, the qualifying patient’s designated caregiver, another qualifying patient, or, if authorized to cultivate, from home cultivation. When a qualifying patient obtains or renews a registry identification card, the Department will provide a list of all operating dispensaries to the qualifying patient.” ADHS, Qualifying Patients FAQs [Accessed March 25, 2010]

Patient Registry fee is $150 for new applications, or $75 for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program participants. The Arizona Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does accept other state’s registry cards, but does NOT permit visiting patients to obtain marijuana from an Arizona dispensary.


 

The State of Arizona has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Arizona Medical Marijuana ID Card, permitting the patient to grow and/or purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Arizona state guidelines. 

Since the Arizona medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Arizona medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Arizona medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Arizona’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Arizona medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Arizona’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Arizona.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Arizona’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


ARIZONA PROGRAM UPDATE

On April 11, 2012, the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) released the revised rules for regulating medical marijuana, and scheduled application dates for May 14 to May 25.

On November 15, 2012, the ADHS awarded “approval to operate”, to the state’s first dispensary. And on December 06, 2012, Arizona Organix, the state’s first medical marijuana dispensary, opened in Glendale. 

On May 07, 2013, Governonr Jan Brewer signed the amended Senate Bill 1443

Section 1. Section 15-108, Arizona Revised Statutes, is amended to read:
A. In addition to the limitations prescribed in section 36-2802, subsection B, a person, including a cardholder as defined in section 36-2801, may not lawfully possess or use marijuana on the campus of any public university, college, community college or postsecondary educational institution. THIS SUBSECTION DOES NOT PROHIBIT MEDICAL RESEARCH PROJECTS INVOLVING MARIJUANA THAT ARE CONDUCTED ON THE CAMPUS OF ANY PUBLIC UNIVERSITY, COLLEGE, COMMUNITY COLLEGE OR POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION AS AUTHORIZED BY APPLICABLE FEDERAL APPROVALS, WHICH MAY INCLUDE THE UNITED STATES FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION, THE UNITED STATES DRUG ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATION AND THE NATIONAL INSTITUTES ON DRUG ABUSE, AND ON APPROVAL OF ANY APPLICABLE UNIVERSITY INSTITUTIONAL REVIEW BOARD. B. A person may not lawfully possess or use marijuana on the campus of any high school, junior high school, middle school, common school or preschool in this state. 


 

ARIZONA POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

In Arizona, qualified patients or their registered designated caregivers may obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the patient or caregiver may cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.


 

ARIZONA QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Arizona in our definitive guide of Arizona’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Arizona’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

ARIZONA MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read Arizona’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Arizona’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Arizona’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Arizona’s laws for his knowledge.

ARIZONA MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} Arizona Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Arizona’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Arizona’s requirements.

ARIZONA MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of Arizona Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Arizona’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.