standard-title California Medical Marijuana

California Medical Marijuana

California Medical Marijuana

On November 05, 1996, 56% of voters approved Ballot Proposition 215, effective November 06, which removed state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients possessing either a “written or oral recommendation” from their physician, advising that he or she may benefit from the medical use of marijuana.

CALIFORNIA PROGRAM AND CONTACT DETAILS 

California Department of Public Health

Public Health Policy and Research Branch
Attention: Medical Marijuana Program Unit
MS 5202P.O. Box 997377Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

Phone: 916-552-8600

Fax: 916-440-5591

Emailmmpinfo@cdph.ca.gov
Website: California Medical Marijuana Program


 

Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
“The MMP is not authorized to provide information on acquiring marijuana or other related products,” Medical Marijuana Program Frequently Asked Questions [Accessed March 01, 2016]

Patient Registry fee is $66 for non Medi-Cal and $33 for Medi-Cal — additional county fees vary by location. * The California Marijuana Registry is voluntary, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.


 

The State of California has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued California Medical Marijuana ID Card, permitting the patient to grow and/or purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per California state guidelines. 

Since the California medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new California medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the California medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about California’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following California medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of California’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in California.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of California’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


CALIFORNIA PROGRAM UPDATE

On January 01, 2004, Senate Bill 420, was effectively amended, imposing statewide guidelines on how much medicinal marijuana patients may cultivate or possess.

On August 25, 2008, California Attorney General Jerry Brown, released guidelines for law enforcement and medical marijuana patients, titled “Guidelines for the Security and Non-division of Marijuana Grown for Medicinal Use“. The non-binding document clarifies the state’s law.

On October 09, 2015, California Attorney General, Jerry Brown, signed three bills to regulate California’s medical marijuana industry, covering licensing requirements for cultivation, distribution, transportation, and more: AB 243AB 266, and SB 634.


 

CALIFORNIA POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

Qualified medical marijuana patients in California, and their primary caregivers, may possess no more than eight ounces of dried marijuana, and/or six mature (or 12 immature) marijuana plants. However, Senate Bill 420 allows patients to possess larger amounts of marijuana when recommended by a physician. The legislation also allows counties and municipalities to approve and/or maintain local ordinances permitting patients to possess larger quantities of medicinal cannabis, than allowed under the new state guidelines.

 Senate Bill 420 also grants implied legal protection to the state’s medicinal marijuana dispensaries, stating the following: 

“Qualified patients, persons with valid identification cards, and the designated primary caregivers of qualified patients … who associate within the state of California in order collectively or cooperatively to cultivate marijuana for medical purposes, shall not solely on the basis of that fact be subject to state criminal sanctions.”


 

CALIFORNIA QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in California in our definitive guide of California’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under California’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

CALIFORNIA MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read California’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of California’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print California’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into California’s laws for his knowledge.

CALIFORNIA MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} California Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to California’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know California’s requirements.

CALIFORNIA MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of California Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in California’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.