standard-title Connecticut Medical Marijuana

Connecticut Medical Marijuana

Connecticut Medical Marijuana

On May 31, 2012, Governor Dannel P. Malloy, signed into law, House Bill 5389, which was approved by the House 96-51, and by the Senate 21-3. 

House Bill 5389, effective May 2012, states that,

“A qualifying patient shall register with the Department of Consumer Protection, prior to engaging in the palliative use of marijuana. A qualifying patient who has a valid registration certificate, shall not be subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner, or denied any right or privilege.”

“Prison inmates, or others under the supervision of the Department of Corrections, would not qualify, regardless of their medical condition.”


Department of Consumer Protection (DCP)
Medical Marijuana Program
165 Capitol Avenue, Room 145
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: 860-713-6066
Toll-Free: 800-842-2649
Website: Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program

Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
A complete list of the state’s six medical marijuana dispensary facilities, is posted on Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program’s website.
The Connecticut Patient Registry application fee, is $100. The Connecticut Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.

The State of Connecticut has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Connecticut Medical Marijuana ID Card, permitting the patient to grow and/or purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Connecticut state guidelines. 

Since the Connecticut medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Connecticut medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Connecticut medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Connecticut medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Connecticut’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Connecticut.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Connecticut’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


On September 23, 2012, the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program website posted an update, with instructions on how to register for the program, beginning October 01, 2012. “Patients who are currently receiving medical treatment for a debilitating medical conditions set out in the law may qualify for a temporary registration certificate beginning October 1, 2012. To qualify, a patient must also be at least 18 years of age and a Connecticut resident.”
On January 16, 2013, the Draft Regulations on Medical Marijuana, were posted online.
On April 03, 2014, the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection announced the names and locations of the first six dispensary facilities, that have been authorized by the state to operate. The first medical marijuana dispensary opened on August 20, 2014.


In the state of Connecticut, the maximum monthly amount allowable, is 2.5 ounces, unless indicated otherwise by the patient’s physician. Under Connecticut law, cultivation is NOT permitted.



Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Connecticut in our definitive guide of Connecticut’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Connecticut’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.


Read Connecticut’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Connecticut’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Connecticut’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Connecticut’s laws for his knowledge.


Find out how to obtain a{n} Connecticut Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Connecticut’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Connecticut’s requirements.


Our list of Connecticut Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Connecticut’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.