standard-title Illinois Marijuana Doctors

Illinois Marijuana Doctors

Illinois Medical Marijuana

On April 17, 2013, House Bill 1 was approved by the House 61-57, which was followed by the approval of the Senate 35-21, on May 17, 2013. Illinois Governor Pat Quinn, signed the bill into law on August 01, 2013, making it effective January 01, 2014. 

Known as the “Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act”, HB 1 established a patient registry program, to protect the registered qualifying patients and their registered appointed caregivers, from “arrest, prosecution, or denial of any right or privilege”. It also includes provisions for cultivation centers and dispensing organizations.

ILLINOIS PROGRAM AND CONTACT DETAILS

Illinois Department of Public Health

Division of Medical Cannabis

Attention: Rulemaking

535 W. Jefferson Street

Springfield, IL 62761-0001

Email: DPH.MedicalCannabis@illinois.gov

WebsiteIllinois Medical Cannabis Program


Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
“The first medical cannabis dispensary opened for business in Illinois on November 9, 2015. A total of twenty dispensaries were licensed in Illinois by December 31, 2015”, Illinois Medical Cannabis Registry Pilot Program Mid-Year Report [Accessed March 01, 2016]  
The Illinois Patient Registry fee is $100, and $50 for veterans or persons enrolled in federal Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SS) disability programs. The Illinois Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.


The State of Illinois has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Illinois Medical Marijuana Card, permitting the patient to purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Illinois state guidelines. 

Since the Illinois medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Illinois medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Illinois medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Illinois’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Illinois medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Illinois’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Illinois.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Illinois’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


ILLINOIS PROGRAM UPDATE

On August 01, 2013, Governor Pat Quinn released a signing statement that outlines the key points of the law, and stipulates that this is a four-year pilot program.
On January 21, 2014, the Department of Health released the draft proposed rules for public comment. Included in the proposal are rules that prohibit qualifying patients and caregivers “are NOT eligible for a Firearm Owners ID card, or a Firearm Concealed Carry License”, as well as instating an annual $150 application fee for all qualifying patients, and proposing a fingerprint-based criminal history background check.
On April 18, 2014, the Department of Public Health released the revised preliminary rules, eliminating the restrictions on gun owners who may apply for a medical marijuana card. In addition, the application fees were reduced to $100 ($50 fee for eligible patients on Social Security Insurance and Social Security Disability Insurance, and veterans), and only $25 for caregivers.
On July 20, 2014, Governor Quinn signed Senate Bill 2636, amending the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Act to allow children under the age of 18, to be treated with non-smokable forms of medical marijuana, for the same qualifying conditions as outlined for adults. Underage patients require at least two doctor signatures, and parents or guardians of the underage patient, must serve as caregiver. Effective January 01, 2015, Senate Bill 2636, also added seizures, including those related to epilepsy, to the list of qualifying medical conditions.


ILLINOIS POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

The Illinois Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act defines an “adequate supply” specifically as “2.5 ounces of usable cannabis during a period of 14 days, derived solely from an intrastate source”. Illinois patients and caregivers are strictly prohibited from cultivating cannabis.


 

ILLINOIS QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Illinois in our definitive guide of Illinois’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Illinois’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

ILLINOIS MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read Illinois’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Illinois’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Illinois’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Illinois’s laws for his knowledge.

ILLINOIS MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} Illinois Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Illinois’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Illinois’s requirements.

ILLINOIS MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of Illinois Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Illinois’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.