standard-title Michigan Medical Marijuana

Michigan Medical Marijuana

Michigan Medical Marijuana

On November 04, 2008, 63% of voters approved Proposal 1, “Michigan Medical Marihuana Act”, effective December 04, 2008, removing the state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients possessing the medical recommendation from their physician, stating that he or she may benefit from the medical use of marijuana. 

MICHIGAN PROGRAM AND CONTACT DETAILS

Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Professional Licensing
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: 517-284-6400
Email: BHP-MMMPINFO@michigan.gov
WebsiteMichigan Medical Marihuana Program


Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
“This is not addressed in the MMMA, therefore; the MMP is not authorized to provide information regarding this issue… The MMMA provides for a system of designated caregivers… The MMP is not authorized to associate patients and caregivers nor release the names of registered caregivers,”Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) [Accessed April 24, 2014]  
The Michigan Patient Registry fee is $60 for new and renewal applications. The Michigan Marihuana Registry is mandatory, and does accept other state’s registry cards. 


The State of Michigan has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Michigan Medical Marijuana Card, permitting the patient to purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Michigan state guidelines. 

Since the Michigan medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Michigan medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Michigan medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Michigan medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Michigan’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Michigan.

 Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Michigan’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”. 


 

MICHIGAN PROGRAM UPDATE

On December 31, 2012, House Bill 4856 amended the Michigan medical marijuana law, making it illegal to “transport or possess” usable marijuana by car unless it is “enclosed in a case that is carried in the trunk of the vehicle”. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor “punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days, or a fine of no more than $500.00, or both”.

On April 01, 2013, House Bill 4834 amended the law, requiring proof of Michigan residency when applying for a registry ID card — in either the form of a drivers license, official state ID, or valid voter registration, and make the card valid for 2 years instead of one; and House Bill 4851 amended the law, requiring a “bona fide physician-patient relationship”, requiring that the physician “maintains records of the patient’s condition in accord with medically accepted standards” and “will provide follow-up care”, and protects the patient from arrest with a registry identification card and valid photo ID.

On February 08, 2013,  in the “State of Michigan vs. McQueen” the Michigan Supreme Court ruled 4-1, that dispensaries are illegal. Michigan medical marijuana patients are required to grow their own marijuana, or appoint a cannabis caregiver — who is limited to caring for no more than five patients.


MICHIGAN POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

Michigan patients may legally possess up to two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable medical marijuana; and twelve plants, to be kept in an enclosed, locked facility, unless the patient appoints a caregiver to cultivate their marijuana. 


 

MICHIGAN QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Michigan in our definitive guide of Michigan’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Michigan’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

MICHIGAN MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read Michigan’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Michigan’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Michigan’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Michigan’s laws for his knowledge.

MICHIGAN MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} Michigan Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Michigan’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Michigan’s requirements.

MICHIGAN MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of Michigan Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Michigan’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.