standard-title Oregon Medical Marijuana

Oregon Medical Marijuana

Oregon Medical Marijuana

On November 03, 1998, Ballot Measure 67 “The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act”, was approved by 55% of voters, effectively removing all state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients who possess a signed recommendation from their physician stating that marijuana “may mitigate” his or her debilitating symptoms. 

OREGON PROGRAM DETAILS

Oregon Department of Human Services

Medical Marijuana Program
PO Box 14116
Portland, OR 97293
Phone: 855-244-9580 (toll-free)
Emailmedmj.dispensaries@state.or.us
Website: www.healthoregon.org/ommp


Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Dispensary Program published a directory of approved dispensaries on its website. “As of October 1, 2015, registered medical marijuana dispensaries may sell limited amounts of recreational marijuana to adults age 21 and older.” 
The Oregon Patient Registry fee is $200 for new applications, and renewals. For persons receiving SNAP (food stamps), the fee is reduced to $60; for patients with Oregon Health Plan cards, the fee is $60; for persons receiving SSI benefits, the fee is reduced to $20; for patients who have served in the Armed Forces of the United States, the fee is reduced $20. The Oregon Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.


 The State of Oregon has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Oregon Medical Marijuana Card, permitting the patient to purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Oregon state guidelines. 

Since the Oregon medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Oregon medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Oregon medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Oregon’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Oregon medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Oregon’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Oregon.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Oregon’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


 

OREGON PROGRAM UPDATE

On January 01, 2006, Senate Bill 1085, effectively amending the law so that state-qualified patients who possess amounts of cannabis exceeding the new state guidelines, will no longer retain the ability to argue an “affirmative defense” of medical necessity, in case of a trial. Any patient, failing to register with the state and in possession of medical cannabis in amounts compliant with state law, retain the ability to use an “affirmative defense” in case of trial. The law was also amended to redefine “mature plants” to specifically include only those cannabis plants, that are more than 12 inches in height and diameter; and established a state patient registry for those authorized to cultivate cannabis for qualified patients.

 On July 21, 1999, House Bill 3052, mandated that patients, or appointed caregivers, cultivating medical cannabis, may only do so in one location. HB 3052 also requires that all patients be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition for at least 12 months prior to being arrested, in order to be allowed to use an “affirmative defense”; and It further mandates that, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease be added to the list of debilitating medical conditions that qualify for medical protection.

In August 2001, program administrators further defined the relationship between patients and relationships, by establishing the requirement of a bona-fide doctor/patient relationship, “a physician who has established a physician/patient relationship with the patient … is primarily responsible for the care and treatment of the patients … has reviewed a patient’s medical records at the patient’s request, has conducted a thorough physical examination of the patient, has provided a treatment plan and/or follow-up care, and has documented these activities in a patient file.” 

On June 06, 2013, SB 281, was signed by Governor John Kitzhaber, officially adding post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to the list of approved qualifying medical marijuana conditions. 

On August 14, 2013, HB 3460, was signed by the Governor, creating a state dispensary program, by allowing for the state licensing and regulation of medical marijuana facilities.

On March 19, 2014, Senate Bill 1531, was signed into law, allowing local governments to restrict the operation of medical marijuana dispensaries, in addition to the moratoriums up to May 01, 2015.

On April 18, 2014, the Oregon Medical Marijuana Dispensary Program approved the applications, of 15 dispensary locations.On July 01, 2015, HB 3400, was signed into law by Oregon Governor Kate Brown, adding a provision that requires patients to be state residents in order to qualify of the program. 

OREGON POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

In the state of Oregon, as per Oregon Revised Statutes ORS 475.300 — ORS 475.346, registry I.D. cardholders, or designated primary caregivers of cardholders, may possess no more than six mature marijuana plants and 24 ounces of usable marijuana, and a combined total of up to eighteen marijuana seedlings.    

 

OREGON QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Oregon in our definitive guide of Oregon’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Oregon’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

OREGON MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read Oregon’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Oregon’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Oregon’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Oregon’s laws for his knowledge.

OREGON MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} Oregon Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Oregon’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Oregon’s requirements.

OREGON MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of Oregon Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Oregon’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.