standard-title Rhode Island Medical Marijuana

Rhode Island Medical Marijuana

Rhode Island Medical Marijuana

While Senate Bill 0710 was approved by the Rhode Island House 52-10, on June 24, 2005, and the Senate 33-1, on June 28, 2005, it was vetoed by the Governor on June 29, 2005. However, the veto was ultimately over-ridden by the House and Senate 28-6, on June 30, 2005.

On January 03, 2006, the House ultimately overrode the veto 59-13, passing the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act, effectively removing all state-level criminal penalties on the use and possession of marijuana by patients in possession of a written letter from a physician stating that he or she may benefit from the medical use of marijuana for alleviating symptoms caused by debilitating medical conditions and their medical treatments.

On June 21, 2007, Senate Bill 791, amended the law such that the repeal date for the medical marijuana act would be removed, and would expand the definition of primary caregiver. 

On April 19, 2013, the first state-licensed medical marijuana dispensary, “The Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center”, opened to registered patients, in Rhode Island.

RHODE ISLAND PROGRAM AND CONTACT DETAILS

Rhode Island Department of Health
Office of Health Professions Regulation, Room 104
3 Capitol Hill 
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Phone: 401-222-2828
Emaildoh.mmp@health.ri.gov
WebsiteRhode Island Medical Marijuana Program (MMP)


Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana

“Compassion centers are places for patients who have qualifying conditions to obtain medical marijuana as allowed by Rhode Island law. Three compassion centers are licensed in Rhode Island: the Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center in Providence; Summit Medical Compassion Center in Warwick; and Greenleaf Compassionate Care Center in Portsmouth,” Medical Marijuana Compassion Centers [Accessed Mar. 1, 2016] 
The Rhode Island Patient Registry is $100. For patients on Medicaid or Supplemental Income (SSI), the fee is $10. The Rhode Island Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does accept other state’s registry cards, but only the conditions that are approved by the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act.


 

The State of Rhode Island has a legalized medical marijuana program, which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a certified physician, and apply for a state-issued Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card, permitting the patient to purchase marijuana for medicinal use, as per Rhode Island state guidelines. 
Since the Rhode Island medical marijuana program is still changing their laws and new Rhode Island medical marijuana laws are being enacted on a regular basis, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most updated laws as it pertains to the Rhode Island medical marijuana program. Please click a corresponding link to find out more about Rhode Island’s Medical Marijuana Program. We have compiled the following Rhode Island medical marijuana index of information to serve as a medical library to our users for legal reference of Rhode Island’s laws, guidelines and program details regarding medical cannabis use in Rhode Island.

Please note: In order to become a legal medical marijuana patient you must first have a qualifying condition as outlined by the department of health services and/or department of justice. For a comprehensive list of Rhode Island’s qualifying medical marijuana conditions, please visit our qualifying conditions section located on the top of our menu under “legal states”.


RHODE ISLAND PROGRAM UPDATES

February 10, 2009, H5359, made various changes to the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act, including the creation and regulation of compassion centers, to aid qualifying patients and their registered primary caregivers, with respect to this act. 

Effective June 16, 2009, the amendment allows for the creation of compassion centers, which may acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer, transport, supply, or dispense marijuana, or related supplies and educational materials, to registered qualifying patients and their registered primary caregivers, as per the Rules and Regulations (last updated in December 2012).

RHODE ISLAND POSSESSION AND CULTIVATION REGULATIONS

The Rhode Island, “Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act”, legally allows qualified and registered patients, and primary caregiver, to cultivate and possess, up to a maximum of twelve plants, and five ounces of usable medical marijuana.

 

RHODE ISLAND QUALIFICATION

Find out Who Qualifies for Marijuana in Rhode Island in our definitive guide of Rhode Island’s qualification guidelines. Read up on medical conditions that are covered under Rhode Island’s medical marijuana program, age restrictions, criminal conviction restrictions, and more.

RHODE ISLAND MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS

Read Rhode Island’s Full Medical Marijuana Laws to gain full specific knowledge of Rhode Island’s exact legal guidelines without interpretation. We suggest that you print Rhode Island’s Full Medicinal Marijuana Laws for use with our MyDoc program in order to provide your physician full insight into Rhode Island’s laws for his knowledge.

RHODE ISLAND MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD

Find out how to obtain a{n} Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Card with our guide to Rhode Island’s state medicinal marijuana ID program. Some states require that you obtain your card prior to obtaining your medicine, so read here first to ensure that you know Rhode Island’s requirements.

RHODE ISLAND MEDICAL MARIJUANA FACTS

Our list of Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Facts will help you seperate the facts from the myths in Rhode Island’s state program. Find out the truth from the leading source in marijuana education.